Cooking with children

Cooking with children, is an activity that I have done, with, both, my own children and the ones, I used to child mind. You can simply let the children help with baking, my own used to like to stand on a chair, beside me, so that they could reach the kitchen worktop and help to stir and mix the ingredients together, then spoon the mixture into the cake cases, fb_img_1487325450145they also liked to lick out the mixing bowl, but be aware, that cake mixture, will contain raw eggs. Children love to help with pastry too, mince pie making were a favourite, as they could roll out the pastry1487415516497870906265 and fill the tarts with the mincemeat. Let children have some of their own pastry, to cut shapes  and decorate with raisins and sultanas.

A favourite with the child minded children, was at Easter, when we made Easter nests, by mixing  shredded  wheat with chocolate and spooned it into nest shapes, when cool place 3 or 4 mini eggs inside and even pop a yellow chick ( widely available for little cost, at this time of year) on top.

At Christmas, we made marzipan fruits,14873257889971747268941 by simply colouring the marzipan with a little food colouring and making fruit shapes, to achieve the mottled effect of orange skin, gently roll the marzipan against the fine side of a cheese grater1487359342886836071372, then push a clove  into the top, for the stem, cloves also look effective on an apple, as the core, or a stalk at the end of a banana.

Don’t forget the simplest idea of  mixing rice crispies, or corn flakes with chocolate, to make cakes1487356919476921750549, that even young children can prepare, with little supervision, as these won’t require cooking. My  son used to enjoy making cookie dough, for the child minded children to  roll and cut out Christmas themed shapes, they would decorate when cool with tubes of coloured icing.

Cooking with children can also  be a good way of encouraging them to talk, about anything that  may be worrying them, as they are not having to look an adult in the eye, but  can carry on with what they doing, while chatting.

Always take care when children are in the kitchen, keep them away from a hot oven and ensure that sharp knives are well out of harms reach ( as they should always be!)

 

As always questions/ c14873585920681801693185comments are welcome.

Karen

x

If anyone wants to contact me directly, do so by email: karendennis1@btinternet.com

14 thoughts on “Cooking with children

  1. It’s so much fun cooking with the help of children. I used to make little cakes and let the children decorate with chocolate,icing,chocolate buttons etc. I wasn’t as adventutous as you I’m afraid. The children used to love cleaning the bowl with little fingers and I admit it always been one of my guilty pleasures. Thank you for the happy memories

    Like

  2. All the things you have mentioned l did as a child, and now do with my 6 year old. l enjoy making those marzipan fruits so much, they don’t last long in our house ! Cooking is such fun for both adult and child, and of course they learn so much from using scales and measuring stuff out.

    Like

  3. I do some baking with my 2 year old and she loves it. I can’t say the same goes for me as I find it pretty stressful. She is so independent and doesn’t understand when to stop so gets frustrated for example when there are no more eggs to crack open. But I’m sticking with it and trying to show I’m having fun. One day it’ll be worth it.
    I love your first photo with the sink full of dishes and the laundry on the floor. That’s EXACTLY like our house most days. My hubby comes home and sees only chaos, but I always think the chores can wait. Hey, there’s some serious play and learnings going on in this house! LOL #LivingArrows

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment